L. W. "Chip" Robert, Jr. Alumni/Faculty House
- Ground Broken Date: 1977
- November 17, 1979
- Originally a Y.M.C.A
- A unique photo exhibit of Georgia Tech history was added in 1994
The Rockefeller YMCA was opened on North Avenue in 1912. This building served as a social hub near the campus for many years until being renovated in the late 1970s. In late 1976, Louisa Carroll and Birney Jones, daughters of alumnus Lawrence W. "Chip" Robert, Jr., pledged $596,000 from the Robert Foundation for the reconstruction and renovation of the old YMCA The facility was successfully renovated and dedicated as the L. W. "Chip" Robert, Jr. Alumni/Faculty House on November 17, 1979. Today, the House encompasses offices and support rooms for more than fifty employees, a Career Development center, a Living History Studio, a conference room, and lobby.