Russ Chandler Stadium
- Ground Broken Date: 1930
- Renovation: 2001
- Date Building Named: 1985
- Known as "The Rusty C" to Georgia Tech Fans
Russ Chandler Stadium is the home of Yellow Jacket Baseball. The stadium was built during Georgia Tech's centennial year of 1985 and the facility is named after A. Russell Chandler, III, who donated the funds for its construction. It replaced the Rose Bowl Field, which was buikt after the 1929 Rose Bowl with funds from Tech's 1928 participation in the post-season contest. Equipped with box seats, concessions, locker rooms, a players' lounge, weight room and three batting cages, the stadium can hold 4,100 spectators and was used as a training facility for the 1996 Olympic Games.
In 1971, 5th Street, which parallels the first-base line, was extended through the campus and caused the removal of the original stadium seating area behind home plate. From then until the beginning of the 1985 season, wooden bleachers were used to accommodate spectators. This led to the continued renovation of the stadium from 1971 to 1983, including an outfield fence dugouts, a press box, and stadium lights. Fans of Georgia Tech baseball affectionately called the stands "The Rusty C" due to its extensive use of aluminum as a construction material.
Mr. A. Russell Chandler III, IE 1967, founded Qualicare, Inc., in 1972 and served as its President and Chief Executive Officer until 1983. As the founder of this company, as well as through involvement with many other investment groups, Mr. Chandler has acquired significant management and investment experience. He was active in the bid for the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, Ga. and led the development and creation of the Olympic Village. He served as the Mayor of the Olympic Village for the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games from 1990 to August 1996. Mr.